Local Authorities - Who Does What?

County Councils

Clayton-le-Woods Parish Council comes under Lancashire County Council who has responsibility for:

  • Children, Education and Families
  • Health and Social Care
  • Transport and Travel
  • Roads, pot holes, repairs and gritting
  • Recycling Centres
  • Fire and public safety
  • Flooding
  • Libraries and Archives
  • Trading Standards including scams and consumer advice.
  • Births, Marriages and Deaths

For information on County Council services:

Website: www.lancashire.gov.uk

Phone: 0300 123 6701

Email: enquiries@lancashire.gov.uk

Borough Councils

Clayton-le-Woods Parish Council comes under Chorley Council who has responsibility for:

  • Collection of Council Tax
  • Bins, Litter and Recycling collection
  • Housing
  • Planning Applications
  • Environmental Health including noise and dog nuisances
  • Leisure Centres and Play areas
  • Parks and allotments

For more information on Chorley Council Services:

Website: www.chorley.gov.uk

Phone: 01257 515151

Parish Councils

Parish Councils are set up and controlled by law and can only act if there is a legal power to do so. Parish Councils are often consulted on County and District issues such as planning applications, road improvements and changes to public transport. Parish Councils can provide vital local knowledge such as flooding concerns and transport and access problems.

Parish Councils are being encouraged to deliver more services and can also support local community groups and provide community activities. They also ensure that the principle authorities are aware of local concerns such as problems with potholes, highway visibility, litter and dog fouling.

Clayton-le-Woods Parish Council


Clayton-le-Woods Parish has 15 Parish Councillors elected to serve the whole Clayton-le-Woods area which is split into 3 wards - North, East and West. Councillors tend to live in the ward they represent but they are responsible for decisions affecting the whole Parish.

Councillors are elected for a maximum term of 4 years. They must be at least over 18 years of age on the day of nomination, be an elector or reside / work in the parish. They are required to sign a formal declaration of office and agree to abide by a Code of Conduct - available on the documents page.

Councillors have a responsibility to listen and take an active part in meetings by suggesting ideas and engaging in constructive debate. They make collective decisions in the interests of the community. Councillors should abide by the majority decision and may not make a decision or act individually on behalf of the Council.

Councils must appoint a Proper Officer and a Responsible Financial Officer (Clerk) to discharge its functions.


The Clerk is an independent, professional officer employed by the Council. They are answerable to the Council as a whole and cannot act on the instructions of individual Councillors. The Council may delegate powers and functions to the Clerk and these are specified in Standing Orders.

The Clerk manages Parish Council business, implements Council decisions, undertakes research, produces reports and provides independent, objective and professional advice. They are responsible for administration and communication with the public and helps increase the awareness of the Council by producing Newsletters and managing Websites.

In Clayton-le-Woods, the Clerk is also the responsible financial officer providing financial management information by completing budgets and precepts for approval, processing accounts and payments and dealing with audit arrangements.

Contact Us